My youngest daughter (who I usually am writing about) is what you would call......a difficult child. However, she has certain charm about her that people tend to fall in love with. And of course my completely unbiased opinion that she is absolutely gorgeous. But literally people just seem drawn to her natural charisma and awkward quirkiness. And this seems great.....but OMG I just want to tell these people live with this little booger!!
She is stubborn and very strong willed, yet, still at 5 years old totally reliant on me. I still have to dress her, buckle her seat belt, wipe her butt, put her shoes and socks on her. All these little things she should know how to do. Her pediatrician says I should stand strong and not help her. DUDE I don't have time for a 30 min stand off every time we get in the car. She refuses to even try to do these things for herself. And me refusing to do it for her results in what we call melt down city, which includes uncontrollable crying and screaming and usually ends with her peeing all over herself!! I'm sorry if it makes me a bad mother, but I have to just buckle the damn seat belt for her!! I have to!
Not to mention she is abnormally obsessed with me. She eats, sleeps, pees, poops, and showers with me. Otherwise, its melt down city!! Separation anxiety?? I dunno but it seems like unhealthy behavior for a 5yr old. She still has frequent toddler like melt downs over the craziest things. She is very particular (or quirky)! She will only wear green fleece socks and only eat cereal out of her green bowl with the straw in it. Otherwise....yup....melt down city again! Then if you are out in public and someone accidentally touches her.....melt down city!! Then everyone in the grocery is staring at you like you are a terrible mother. Like "hey lady control that screaming kid" Her teacher everyday when I pick her says "umm Mrs. Cox she refused to participate again today."AND DO YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS?!?!?! You are a professional right?? You tell me what to do cause I am out of ideas here!! You know what teacher you are lucky she doesn't have melt downs for you, then you really wouldn't know what to do!!
I could go on and on but the point of all this is.... I feel like a total failure as a mother because I just can't handle it. She can make me a nervous wreck. I have reached out to her pediatrician, but he says there is nothing wrong with her and that she is just a strong willed child AKA brat. I scheduled a conference with her teacher and speech therapist and principal. They mentioned a few different concerns and some of her quirky behaviors. And suggested we see a specialist. Well, I finally demanded to see a specialist to my pediatrician. We shall see..........Lets see what the future holds.
Sincerely yours,
prisoner at melt down city
No comments:
Post a Comment